mandyhouk.com

Doesn’t that sound weird? I’ve always thought it must be odd for radio personalities to say the names of their shows–Laura Ingraham saying “This is the Laura Ingraham show,” Hugh Hewitt, etc. It must be somewhat surreal to have your actual name be a sort of brand name.

Anyway, I decided it was time to set up a website for my fledgling (embryonic, really) writing, editing, and speaking business. So I was all excited, researching different hosting services, all that jazz. And I picked one, and paid two years in advance, and got my domain name (amazing that mandyhouk.com wasn’t already taken, don’t you think?).

But there have been a few obstacles to getting things rolling.

1. I have no clue what I’m doing. I don’t know what RSS stands for. I don’t know what a script is, let alone how to install one (or if I need to in the first place). To use a stale old cliche, it’s Greek to me. I don’t know enough of the lingo to even ask any questions. The idea of emailing the help desk petrifies me. I’m afraid my ignorant use of computer-speak will have the whole help department gathering around the monitor of the poor soul that winds up receiving my inquiry, the whole crowd of them laughing uproariously and forwarding my ridiculousness to everyone they know.

2. It has suddenly occurred to me that I have no idea what I’m going to put on the site. Clearly, I’ll link to this one. Beyond that … ??? Any ideas of yours are welcome!

3. (Related to #1) I have chosen my Joomla template and downloaded it (wow, that sounded like I know what I’m talking about, hm? Unless I used those words wrong … oh, dear) but when I go to my administration page where I’m supposed to actually install the thing to my site, and I hit “browse,” I can’t find the file. (Is it technically a file? Mercy!)

At least I have two years to figure things out before another Mandy Houk can swoop in and steal my domain name.

UPDATE: I have switched to a more user friendly template (aka: a template for dopes like me), so the site is officially up. It’s also officially dorky, but I can deal with that. I am sure I’ll spend the next few weeks fiddling. My first tasks: change the images, tone down the yellow if possible, and figure out how to add links to other sites. I miss writing–I need to start another book!

6 thoughts on “mandyhouk.com

  1. Hey, Molly! =)

    I had no clue you knew how to build websites. I will have to pick your brain.

    For now, I’ve been getting help from the help desk, though they tend to simply refer me to the tutorials which are frequently hard for me to understand since they use “the lingo.”

    Believe me, I’ll call you next time I need immediate assistance! Thank you!

  2. I’ll be first in line to swoop up mandyhouk.com when it becomes available!!! If I can’t be a great writer, I’ll pose as one! :~)

Leave a Reply

