Vote with your dollars

I just heard an interview with John Schneider (yes, that John Schneider):

unbranded-john-schneider-autograph.jpg

He’s promoting his new film, Hidden Secrets, which will be released in limited markets this Monday. I can’t endorse the movie yet, having not even been able to get the preview on the movie’s site to work. But the story sounds intriguing, so I’m going to check it out if it ever gets to a theater near me.

I hear people (including myself) complaining quite a bit about the selection of films out there. We like to blame the movie companies for not putting out anything decent. But, as Mr. Schneider pointed out this morning in his interview, movie companies are motivated purely by dollars (they have to be–they’re businesses). Do we truly want movie companies to make more films that we can enjoy and appreciate and even share with our kids without being ready to cover their little eyes in case we made a questionable choice? If that’s what we truly want, then we have to take a chance on little movies like One Night With the King (pretty good), Facing the Giants (not so much), and, now, Hidden Secrets.

If you like romantic comedies, you go out and see them when they’re advertised, even though you know you might not wind up loving the movie. Same goes for thrillers, dramas, etc. John Schneider also pointed out this morning that, although the film Dukes of Hazzard was widely panned by critics, fans, and especially all of those who were involved with the television show, it made something like $38 million. So I wouldn’t be surprised to see a sequel (heaven save us from sequels!). That’s how the movie industry works. When a movie pulls in lots of dollars, movie makers take note and try to make more movies just like it. (What else could possibly explain the plethora of remakes that plague the cineplexes?)

If I get a chance to see this film myself, I’ll add a review to this post. In the meantime, I hope you’ll get out there and vote with your dollars. And if you do, please share your review in the comments section.

One thought on “Vote with your dollars

  1. I adore John Schneider. He is the perfect example of how men should be. 6’4″ and deeply religious. I was shocked how many really good looking men were on “Smallville”, and he was truly one of them, if not the best. I miss his character on the show. There aren’t many positive role models for boys in the last few decades I’ve been around. We need more people in the world like John. God bless him.
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

