I’m Working on it

“Try praising your wife, even if it does frighten her at first.” — Billy Sunday

I have a hard time receiving compliments, which drives Pete crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate them. I just cringe a little inside because I don’t know how to react. I don’t want it to appear that I agree with the compliment (“Yes, I know, my hair does look especially lovely today. Nice of you to notice.”). So I tend to make a face, roll my eyes, say things like, “Whatever.” Or “Yeah, right.”

The problem is that it’s not any fun for Pete to try to compliment me. Why bother when you’re shot down every time? So we made a deal a few weeks ago, that he would compliment me more if I would … well, if I would just be quiet. And hold my eyeballs still. And resist the urge to scoff, huff, or sigh. And shake my head. And frown.

So far, it’s working pretty well, though we get the giggles when all I can manage to do is hold my breath, raise my eyebrows, and grin. And I still don’t really believe him when he calls me “Gorgeous.” I mean, a word like that should be reserved for Angelina Jolie or Halle Berry. But I guess I don’t really want him calling me “Cutie Pie,” either. So I’m working on it.

3 thoughts on “I’m Working on it

  1. Learning to gracefully receive a compliment is a hard thing to do! but you’ll get the hang of it 🙂

    (and you are gorgeous to the people who love you even if you don’t make a list mostly populated by people who have a veritable host of Make Me Look Fabulous employees at hand 🙂

  2. Pete, I feel your pain…I have to wade through the same tricky waters when I compliment my Sandy! Roll of the eyes, etc.,…yeah, the whole works. I’m with you, but thanks for the creative idea. I’ll try it! Even if it kills me (or her).

    Wish me luck, I’m going in…

  3. it is a family trait. I have never learned to take compliments raciously and I cannot explain why. If you have tips, please pass them on…

Leave a Reply

