It’s the Little Things, All Right

Unlike my earlier post with a similar name, I’m not talking about good “little things.” I’m talking about all the ticky-tacky odds and ends that populate our home for no useful reason and hardly even get noticed until moving day, when they all wind up being thrown in a box at the last minute, and I have to label the box, “stuff” or “miscellaneous” or, most appropriately, “junk!” All the while, I’m asking myself, “What on earth do I have this for?”

Examples:

random VBS crafts from roughly nine years of VBSing

rocks (you have no idea the number of rocks I packed, each one kept for reasons such as “that neat pink stripe down the middle”)

a cat scratching post that has been worn down so smooth, it’s amazing it hasn’t taken on a sheen

marbles

more flashlights than a battery factory could possibly supply past a week (okay, that’s an exaggeration, but it didn’t feel like one when I was packing them)

Yes, all of these things have their own brand of intrinsic value. But now that each of my daughters has more than one “treasure” box, I have to wonder if this isn’t a kind of twist on materialism. I know that sounds harsh, and it’s no doubt affected by my own exhaustion from packing and moving. I’m just wondering …

2 thoughts on “It’s the Little Things, All Right

  1. I so get this.

    Because if you get rid of even one flashlight, you’ll remember that when you next need one and can’t find it.

    Or if you get rid of even one rock, that doesn’t look all that special, it will be the one they ask, “Mom, where is my….?”

    Oy.

  2. Pingback: And We’re Back « for better, for worse, for life

Leave a Reply

