What if?

What if You’re Wrong?” by Nichole Nordeman

What if you’re right, and He was just another nice guy? What if you’re right?

What if it’s true: they say the cross will only make a fool of you.  And what if it’s true?

What if He takes His place in history with all the prophets and the kings, who taught us love and came in peace, but there the story ends.  What then?

But what if you’re wrong?  What if there’s more?  What if there’s hope you never dreamed of hoping for?  What if you jump–just close your eyes–what if the arms that catch you, catch you by surprise?  What if He’s more than enough?  What if it’s love?

What if you dig, way down deeper than your simple-minded friends?  What if you dig?  What if you find a thousand more unanswered questions down inside?  And that’s all you find?

What if you pick apart the logic, and begin to poke the holes?  What if the crown of thorns is no more than folklore that must be told–and retold?

But what if you’re wrong?  What if there’s more?  What if there’s hope you never dreamed of hoping for?  What if you jump–just close your eyes–what if the arms that catch you, catch you by surprise?  What if He’s more than enough?  What if it’s love?

You’ve been running as fast as you can.

You’ve been looking for a place you can land … for so long.  And what if you’re wrong?

 

I’ve been listening to Nichole Nordeman’s “Brave” cd for a few days now, and this song is one I always turn up louder and repeat a couple of times before moving on to the next one.  Generally, as I’m listening to it, I think about all my friends and family who don’t know Jesus like I do, and I make the song a sort of prayer that they’ll examine their thoughts about Him and see that they’re missing something amazing.  (Note:  the one line I object to in the song is “just close your eyes.”  It smacks a bit too much of wishful thinking, and I firmly believe that the best chance someone has of finding the true Jesus is to keep his eyes wide, wide open.  Jesus isn’t elusive and wispy and fairy-like.  He’s right here, waiting to be seen, examined, and focused upon.)

Lately, though, I have begun to realize that, to answer one of the song’s many questions, there really is “more.”  More than I can imagine, even having been a Christian now for nearly thirty years.   I feel like I’ve been wading along in a knee-deep faith, just skimming the surface, making me, in effect, “wrong” about who He truly is.

I don’t believe any of us will fully know Him until we see Him face to face, but I want to continue, throughout my life, to seek Him out and know Him more intimately than I ever have before.

One thought on “What if?

Leave a Reply

