WFMW: Jazz for Kids

jazzforkidsimage.jpg

Since my girls were tiny, I’ve always tried to play lots of different types of music around the house and in the car. You know, the whole “well-rounded” thing. I have never been a huge fan of “kid” cds. For the most part, I find them annoying and oversimplified. I just don’t see the need to have a whole separate genre of custom-made kid music–whether it’s original or altered–when there is so much great stuff out there to expose them to.

This cd, Jazz for Kids, is not your typical “kid” cd. None of these songs were written for kids, or altered to make them marketable to kids. They are in their original, delightfully jazzy form. And, if you don’t happen to know it yet, jazz just happens to be the happiest, bounciest, giggliest music out there.

There are two selections from Ella (whose voice both of my girls can recognize even if they hear a song they’ve never heard before), two from Slim Gaillard, one each from Louis Prima, Louis Armstrong (I bet you can guess which song), Blossom Dearie, Carmen McRae, and more.

The girls and I absolutely adore playing this cd in the car, and with all the fun we’re having, I’m fairly certain that we’ve entertained numerous passing motorists as well.

This cd most definitely works for me! Want to see what works for Shannon? Click here!

Oh. And in case you didn’t guess, the Louis Armstrong is, of course, “It’s a Wonderful World.”

17 thoughts on “WFMW: Jazz for Kids

  1. We do this, too!!! We have exposed our children to a wide variety of music, and they can now identify different genres, as well as various artists.

    I enjoyed reading your book list, too. I love finding new (old) books to read.

  2. Mrs. Brownstone –

    I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying the book list! My honest intent is to put negative reviews on there, too, but I haven’t read anything even remotely terrible lately, so it’s all been glowing thus far.

    What other music do your kids like?

    Mandy

  3. Diatribal —

    I’m so glad you have it, too!

    As for the “bokking” I think you’re talking about “Chicken Rhythm” — both songs are on the cd, and I always get them confused (soooo many chicken songs out there, don’t you know) but “Chicken Rhythm” is the bokk-y one. My girls and I always laugh when Slim Gaillard cracks himself up and has to take a breath!

    We also just love “Mumbles.”

  4. “For the most part, I find them annoying and oversimplified. I just don’t see the need to have a whole separate genre of custom-made kid music–whether it’s original or altered–when there is so much great stuff out there to expose them to.”

    Amen! Sister!!!

    I love jazz and will need to check this CD out for the nieces and nephews!

  5. Oh, that’s great! My loves are classical and jazz and, while I play a lot of classical for the babies, I just don’t end up playing so much jazz. I will be buying this CD!!!! 😀

  6. As someone who has a love for jazz and is constantly seeking to learn more about the genre, I think it’s AWESOME that you’re exposing your kids to something other than the kid cds (especially since half of them are just kids singing clean versions of the “music” that’s on popular radio now). That is awesome that you’re helping to expose them at a young age!

    Thanks for the read – I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog!

  7. Mrs. Brownstone –

    I love it! My youngest daughter’s favorite music seems to be Southern Rock. She loves Lynyrd Skynnrd (how on earth is that supposed to be spelled?), John Mellencamp, Bo Bice, Third Day, Chris Daughtry …

    In fact, she’s upstairs right now, listening to last year’s Southern Music cd from Oxford American’s annual music issue!

    Mandy

Leave a Reply

