It’s About the Marriage, Not the Wedding

There are so many things wrong with this story. (If you’d rather not click:  A woman who happens to be a lawyer is suing her wedding florist for $400,000 because the flowers weren’t the right color, among other claims.)

First of all, flowers are living things, and seasonal.  I specifically recall my florist telling me that she’d do her best to get the colors I requested, but she would be limited by what was actually available on the day of the wedding.

Second, the cost of the flowers was around $30,000 (which is three times the cost of my entire wedding, but I digress).  Requesting $400,000 for damages is ludicrous.  I understand disappointment.  But if you’re emotionally scarred from an “0ff” shade of flowers–even wilted ones–then you’ve got deeper issues than I can possibly understand.  An appropriate compensation would be free flowers every month for a year, or something along those lines.  Not hundreds of thousands of dollars in cash.

Lastly, when you get right down to it, the wedding is a party.  The meaning is contained in the promises that are made, and in the supportive celebration of family and friends.  The decorations have no bearing on the quality of the vows.  Focus on the marriage that begins with those precious words, as soon as they’re spoken at the altar.  I’m pretty sure they’d count even if the couple were surrounded by dandelions and ragweed.

By the way, I requested red roses in full bloom for my wedding bouquet, and received tightly bound little buds instead.  I was bummed, but guess what?  I’m still married.  Somehow we’ve made it almost fifteen years now, in spite of the bouquet being less than we expected.  And I was able to preserve the buds in a covered glass bowl which I have to this day, which would have been nearly impossible with full blooms.

That’s part of life: things happen differently than we’d like, we deal with it, learn to make the best of it, and move on.  Disappointments are stepping stones to building character; they’re not stepping stones in the pathway to riches.

2 thoughts on “It’s About the Marriage, Not the Wedding

  1. I grant, I’m a guy. But I don’t even know exactly what flowers we had.

    More to my interests … we had told the DJ at our reception there were certain categories of songs we just didn’t want to hear. We gave several specific examples, when he tried to talk about certain “liven-up-the-party” things like “It’s Raining Men.”

    I was ticked when he started playing “Save A Horse, Ride A Cowboy.” But it ended. My wife and I got over it. We’re still married, and we laugh about it on the rare occasions when it comes up.

    It never crossed my mind to sue … dang … I’m such a fool …

  2. I requested lilacs, in May. It should have happened. It did. But they were closed and didn’t smell (which is why I wanted them). And I. Don’t. Care. Cause I got married anyway.

Leave a Reply

