If You Can’t Beat ‘Em

wfmwheader.jpg

I grew up in a football-loving household. And I’m not just talking about the men. My mother whooped and hollered right along with my dad–even louder. It was the perfect training ground for my future role as wife to a Cheese-headed Packer Backer.

I have often heard women complain about their husbands’ fascinations with sports, and it’s not that I’m unsympathetic. Pete likes every sport there is, which mean there is always something to watch on ESPN. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but hockey season, basketball season, baseball season, and football season overlap. And every couple of years, they throw the Olympics in there for good measure. I admit I’ve been frustrated at times when Pete’s attention is so thoroughly engulfed by watching grown men fight over some ball (or puck).

But I also admit that I cringe when I hear wives discuss their mates’ interest in sports as if it were a character flaw. I don’t recall ever hearing men stand around and discuss their wives’ love for scrapbooking as if it were something to be concerned about. It’s quite simple: they have fun watching sports. It makes them happy.

Instead of fighting the sports fanaticism, or going off somewhere to pout about it, I jump right in. In fact, I have been known to thoroughly embarrass my daughters when they have friends over on Sunday afternoons. Particularly when one of my fantasy players catches a long pass. Let’s just say I could give my mom a run for her money in the hollering department.

If you just cannot fathom the idea of trying to understand the intricacies of blitzes, screen passes, laterals, turnovers, and the tricky strategics of “going for two,” that’s okay, too. (In fact, some husbands would rather not sit there and explain it to you. Have I told you lately that Pete and I are a perfect match?) If you don’t want to join in, just find something else to do. Scrapbooking comes to mind.

Enjoying sports with my husband has worked for me for fifteen years now. Head over to Rocks in My Dryer to see what works for Shannon!

11 thoughts on “If You Can’t Beat ‘Em

  1. Good advice Mandy. I’ve never had this issue at my house cuz I’m the sports fan and my hubby is not. I chill while he watches Trucks etc…
    blessings…

  2. Great post! My hubby share a love of the same sports. I don’t know if it started that way, or we just learned to enjoy each other’s favorites! Our favorite family time is watching football, baseball, and golf together, and we are hoping to pass that on to our daughter.

    Have a great day!

  3. Are you kidding me? I’ve heard more than one man discuss their wives’ scrapbooking as if it were a character flaw. And shopping. And obsession with oh, ice cream. Not that it makes it okay to gripe about your spouse, I’m just shocked you’ve never heard it. Other than that, you know how I feel about this topic.

    Go Chiefs! (Whether or not I have a front row seat to a train wreck–though they are doing better.)

  4. I totally agree with you! I have noticed the overlap in seasons, but that short period of time when there really isn’t anything is when it gets painful. My DH doesn’t know what to do with himself! I enjoy a good hockey game now and then, but not every night. His watching sports gives me the opportunity to pursue my interests in, yes, scrapbooking and other craftiness. I support his habits and he supports mine. It was definitely a match made in Heaven. 🙂

  5. Awww, you’re totally right. That’s how my husband knew I was the right one for him! I liked him in his Broncos hat and started talking about the current season and boy, was he impressed!

    Don’t start with me about the Packer Bronco game this past Monday. All I can say is, we couldn’t have been beaten by a better team! We heart Favre.

  6. Jamie –

    I have heard guys ridicule scrapbooking, but I’ve never heard them long for their wives to be different in that area.

    When I was newly engaged, and so were a few of my friends, I distinctly recall a conversation we had where one girl was thoroughly jealous of the other girl’s good fortune that her fiance did not watch sports. And she hoped, out loud, that her own fiance would quit watching sports, or at least watch a lot less, at some point in their marriage. Like he would grow out of it and he’d be a better person when he did.

    I think a lot of that was youth and naivete. About fourteen years later, he’s still watching sports, and I don’t think she’d complain about it now.

    Go Packers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

