Updates

I just posted a list of my favorite dates at Weekend Kindness. Click here to check it out.

If you want to see my current article in Marriage Partnership magazine, click here. You can read it in its entirely online.

And if you have an overwhelming urge to plunk down actual money to read my writing, you can click here to buy a copy of Chicken Soup for the Adopted Soul, which includes my piece, “Adoption Means….” (Weird side note: in the Contributors section, I am listed as “Amanda Brown Houk,” and alphabetized under “B,” making it nearly impossible to find me if you’re looking for “Mandy Houk.” What’s even weirder? When I searched for “Mandy Houk” on Amazon to find the link to the book for this post, I discovered that I am included in the Contributor section of Chicken Soup for the Soul: A Tribute to Moms. In this edition, I am listed correctly, as “Mandy Houk.” The problem? I don’t have any articles in that edition! Puzzling …)

As for this particular blog, I have decided to update it periodically, so if you can figure out how to get email notification of updates, let me know so I can post it here. (I don’t even know if that’s an available option!) In the next couple of days, I will be adding some new entries to the Book Reviews page, so look for that.

Thanks for visiting!

8 thoughts on “Updates

  1. I read your article about how you conscienciously tested your husband’s “listening ability” during a Packers-Bears Game, during a 1st and goal moment, which resulted in a Favre to Sharpe TD pass, and proof that your hubby wasn’t listening.

    Frankly, be glad that he didn’t listen. You used the event as an Ace in your pocket for years. Instead, the roles might have been flipped. Every time you tried to talk to him at an inopportune moment, placing your own needs and desires above those of your husbands, which you were oblivious to, he would simply reply “Favre to Sharpe TD pass”.

  2. In the event that I was not clear… I meant to articulate that If he had been listening to you, he would have missed that play. This would result in the weight of resentment, in that moment, being felt by him.

  3. Hi Mandy

    Thanks for your article in MP. I appreciate, especially, your honesty and transparency.

    I have the opposite problem. I’m the supposed non-listener. Hubby is the talker. As I have absolutely no interest in sport, he will constantly interrupt when I read.

    Like your hubby, I too, try really hard to listen, and sometimes fail completely. At least I can put the book down.

    We were chatting about the power of words at our small group last night, and the danger of taking words as “souveniers”. I mentioned the old hack about the husband complaining to the psychologist that his wife doesn’t get hysterical, she gets historical and we all had a good laugh, mostly because it’s so true of so many of us.

    I pray that I will let go of my souveneirs the way that you have.

    ~Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing~

  4. PS – als enjoyed your link to unusual dates…we do tend to go with the old dinner and a movie favourite, but will make an effort to try something new with one of these ideas. Thanks!

  5. Mandy, I don’t mean to rat on my wife… but you’ve given me an aid to understand why my wife likes to talk to me when I’m given to other things!

    Glad to see you outputting. I have no idea how to make your new content show up in emails, but doesn’t the RSS feed accomplish a simular thing? I see you have an RSS feed to your comments, now if you could just post one to the original article.

    By the way, after seeing your blog a month or so ago, I decided I could use the format to start one of my own. Its mosty poems, but you might try it out at

    http://startledbyexistence.squarespace.com/

    It should be ready for general readership in a couple more weeks.

    Kirk J.

  6. Yay! Mandy is back!
    I suggest checking out feedburner.com.
    We just redesigned the PCI web page using WordPress as the base (www.pacificchurch.com), and we set up an update-by-email option on there. And by “we,” I mean “Jonathan Hasson.” Who, by the way, also has a blog which I shall plug here because blog people like that:
    http://jonathanhasson.typepad.com

Leave a Reply

